peter krey's web site

scholarship, sermons, songs, poems, weblog writing on Wordpress.com

Children’s Prayers and others in German and English

with 39 comments

Prayers for Little Children

Ich bin klein, mein Herz ist rein. Soll niemand drin wohnen als Jesus allein. Amen.

Jesukindlein komm zu mir

Jesukindlein komm zu mir,
mach ein frommes Kind aus mir.
Mein Herzerl ist klein,
kann niemand hinein,
als du, mein liebes Jesulein.

For others see:

http://www.kirchenweb.at/kindergebete/abendgebete/abendgebete.htm

Morning Prayer

Wie fröhlich bin ich aufgewacht.

Wie hab ich geschlafen so sanft die Nacht.

Hab dank den Vater im Himmel mein,

dass Du uns wollens bei mir sein.

Bleib bei mir auch diesen Tag,

dass mir kein Leid geschehen mag. Amen.

Evening Prayer

Müde bin ich, geh zu Ruh,

schliesse beide Äuglein zu.

Vater, lass die Augen dein,

über meinem Bette sein.

Hab ich Unrecht Heut getan,

sieh es lieber Gott nicht an.

Aber Christi Gnad und Jesu Blut,

machen allen Schaden gut. Amen.

Ein Gebet aber auch ein Lied:

Breit aus die Flügel beide

O Jesu, meine Freude,

und nimm dein Küchlein ein.

Will uns der Feind verschlingen,

so lass die Englein singen:

dies Kind soll unverletzet sein. Amen.

Noch ein Gebet:

Christi Blut und Gerechtigkeit

Das ist mein Schmuck und Ehrenkleid,

damit will ich vor Gott bestehn

Wenn  ich zum Himmel werd eingehn. Amen.

Another prayer; noch ein Gebet:

Ach mein herzliebes Jesulein,

Mach dir ein rein sanft Bettelein,

Zu ruhn in meines Herzens Schrein,

Dass ich nimmer vergesse dein! Amen.

A short prayer before going to sleep

(I believe it comes from Dostoevsky or

I could also check Les Miserables.)

Dear Jesus,

lay me down like a stone

and raise me up like a loaf. Amen.

Another prayer for bedtime

Now I lay me down to sleep,

I pray the Lord my soul to keep.

Watch over me from heaven above,

Jesus, keep me in your love. Amen.

For a child cranky before bedtime

I’m so tired I want to cry.

Dear Jesus come near by

and hold my hand until  sleep

and your dear watch over me keep. Amen.

Saying Grace at the Table

Herr, Dir sei Dank für Speis und Trank. Amen.

Another Prayer

Segne, Herr, was deine Hand uns in Gnaden zugewandt. Amen.

Another Prayer

Wir danken dir, Herr Jesu Christ, dass du unser Gast gewesen bist.

Bleib du bei uns so hat’s nicht Not, du bist das rechte Lebensbrot. Amen.

Another Prayer

Alle guten Gaben, alles, was wir haben, kommt o Gott von dir. Dank sei dir dafür. Amen.

Another Prayer

Wir danken dir, o treuer Gott, für unser gutes täglich Brot.

Lass uns in dem, was du uns gibst, erkennen, Herr, dass du uns liebst. Amen.

Another Prayer

Vater, segne diese Speise uns zur Kraft und Dir zum Preise.  Amen.

And another

Zwei Dinge, Herr, sind Not, die gib nach deiner Huld:

Gib uns das Täglich Brot, vergib uns unsre Schuld. Amen.

Another Grace as popular in German as in English

Komm, Herr Jesu, sei Du unser Gast

und segne was Du uns bescheret hast. Amen.

In English

Come Lord Jesus, be our guest

and let these gifts to us be blessed. Amen.

Another Table Prayer

For health and strength and daily food,

we praise thy name, dear Lord. Amen.

Another

Come, Jesus,

be our holy guest,

our morning joy, our evening rest.

And with this daily food impart

Thy loving peace in every heart.  Amen.

(by Anna Brown Berg from North West Iowa)

Another

We live not, Lord, by bread alone.

Without your blessing, bread were stone.

For bread and for your kindly Word,

we thank and bless you, God our Lord. Amen.

(by Martin Franzmann)

Another

All eyes look to you,  O Lord, and you give them food in due season.

You open your hand and fill the desires of all living things. Amen.

In German

Aller Augen warten suf Dich, Herr, und Du gibst ihnen ihre Speise zu seiner Zeit,

Du tust deine Hand auf und sättigst alles, was da lebet, mit Wohlgefallen. Amen.

This one is mostly sung, Speise, Vater, deine Kinder:

Speise, Vater, deine Kinder, tröste die betrübten Sünder,

sprich den Segen zu den Gaben, die wir jetzt so vor uns haben,

dass sie uns zu diesem Leben, Stärke, Kraft und Nahrung geben,

bis wir endlich mit den Frommen zu der Himmelsmahlzeit kommen. Amen.

(My father always led the singing of this prayer. As a little child, I would sing:

Sprich den Segen zu den Gabeln,” and I would wonder why we singled out the forks for the blessing.

I did not know the word “Gaben” back then.)

An Evening Prayer

Herr, bleibe bei uns, denn es will Abend werden und der Tag hat sich geneiget. Amen.

Some other prayers and their translation can be found in the German-Russian Heritage Website page. They are written up by Carol Just Halverson of St. Louis Park, Minnesota and Sherrie Gettman Stahl.

Carol asked about the German song they sang around their grandparents’ grave: “Wo findet die Seele, die Heimat, die Ruh.” It can be found at a website called Home, Sweet Home. I can remember the fervor and love of my father singing this song. The following words come from that site.

German Text (Jörgens)

1. Wo findet die Seele die Heimat, der Ruh?
Wer deckt sie mit schützenden Fittichen zu?
Ach, bietet die Welt keine Freistatt mir an,
Wo Sünde nicht kommen, nicht anfechten kann?
Nein, nein, nein, nein, hier ist sie nicht,
die Heimat der Seelen ist droben im Licht!

2. Verlasse die Erde, die Heimath zu sehn,
Die Heimat der Seele, so herrlich, so schön,
Jerusalem droben, von Golde gebaut,
Ist dieses die Heimath der Seele, der Braut?
Ja, ja, ja, ja, dieses allein
Kann Ruhplatz und Heimat der Seele nur sein.

3. Wie selig die Ruhe bei Jesu im Licht!
Tod, Sünde und Schmerzen, die kennt man dort nicht.
Das Rauschen der Harfen, der liebliche Klang
Empfängt die Erlösten mit süßem Gesang.
Ruh’, Ruh’, Ruh’, Ruh’, himmlische Ruh’,
Im Schoße des Mittlers, ich eile dir zu!

additional/zusätzlich:
4. Bei aller Verwirrung und Klage allhier,
Ist mir, o mein Heiland, so wohl stehts bei dir!
Im Kreise der Deinen sprichst „Friede!“ du aus,
Da bin ich mit deiner Gemeinschaft zu Haus!
Heim, heim, heim, heim, ach ja nur heim!
O komme, mein Heiland, und hole mich heim!

A mens’ choir sings it on Youtube: “Wo findet die Seele die Heimat der Ruh” We sang the melody somewhat differently, but pretty close to their rendition.

“Johanna Krey” <jikrey@gmail.com>, “Carleen Krey” <andoverkrey@verizon.net>
Written by peterkrey

July 31, 2009 at 7:40 pm

Posted in 1, Prayers

39 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am looking for a childrens prayer in German that talks about Angels taking them to Heaven. My mother is 94 years old and learned it as a child but can only speak it in German and I am trying to find it in English.
    Thanks
    Jay Cobb

    Jay

    April 20, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    • to bad if I could talk to her I could translate it for you.

      Ingrid

      November 30, 2011 at 3:44 pm

  2. Lieber Heiland mach mich fromm dass ich in den Himmel komm. Mein Hertz ist klein, darf niemand hinein als du Mein Herr Jesulein. Amen
    hope this helps

    I took the liberty to fix the spelling and make the ending rhyme. peter krey

    Ingrid

    April 26, 2010 at 7:33 pm

  3. Five little angels round my bed.
    One to the foot and one to the head.
    One to sing and one to pray, and one to take my sins away. Amen.

    (Just for translation purposes:)
    Fünf kleine Engel um mein Bett.
    Ein zum Fuß und ein zum Kopf.
    Ein, um zu singen, und ein, um zu beten, und ein, um meine Sünden wegzunehmen. Amen.

    Now I lay me down to sleep
    I pray the Lord my soul to keep
    Angels watch over me through the night
    and wake me on the morning light.

    (Just for translation purposes:)
    Jetzt leg ich mich hin zu schlafen
    Ich bitte Dich, O Herr, behüte meine Seele.
    Lass deine Engel über mich wachen durch die Nacht
    und erwecken mich im Morgenlicht.

    Ingrid

    April 26, 2010 at 7:55 pm

    • Dear Ingrid,

      Can you spell check and complete this german prayer I remember my great aunt used to say every night. She died when I was 10. I don’t know if I remember it all or correctly.

      “Ach, mein herr liebst es Jesuline,
      Mach dir ein rhine sunft bettiline,
      Sa ruhen in mein es harst enshrine,
      Das ich nimmer, nimmer forgesse dein.
      Amen”

      dear Cheryl,
      Now I’ve included this payer above:

      Ach mein herzliebes Jesulein,

      Mach dir ein rein sanft Bettelein,

      Zu ruhn in meines Herzens Schrein,

      Dass ich nimmer vergesse dein! Amen. peter krey

      Cheryl (Mueller) Kent

      May 16, 2010 at 5:59 pm

  4. I found this prayer at another website:

    Desiree writes:

    My husband’s grandma taught him this. Our children love this prayer and say it nightly!

    Now I lay me down to rest
    Angels guard my little nest
    Like the wee birds in the tree
    Loving Father care for me
    Glad and well may I awake
    This I ask for Jesus sake.
    Amen

    from Bedtime Prayers
    http://home.pcisys.net/~tbc/bedpryr.htm
    Contributed by Desiree Lee

    peterkrey

    July 6, 2010 at 6:46 pm

  5. There is a German website “Kinder und Kirche” with many children’s prayers in German. It also e valuates them.

    http://www.selk.de/download/Ki+Ki07.pdf

    peter krey

    peterkrey

    July 6, 2010 at 7:01 pm

  6. My grandma used to teach us a prayer in German that she was taught as a little girl. When we learned it, it sounded like a few words but they may have been grouped together. As best I can sound it out, it went “Inglicomb, Mathithrown, das e so dear and symlicomb” any ideas? We said it everynight before bed.

    amanda

    August 17, 2011 at 1:17 am

    • dear Amanda,

      Thanks for leaving a comment on my website. I just noticed it.

      I used to have my three boys say all their prayers in German, even though they did not understand a word of German. They would say words in the funniest ways.

      So the prayer your grandma taught you represented quite a challenge.

      I deciphered the last line first: Dass ich zu Dir in den Himmel komm. (The “s” in there was making heaven into the wrong gender.)

      The first part is really mangled, but I would guess it is: Lieber Gott, mach mich fromm,

      So the two lines of a longer prayer, probably in a German dialect go:

      Lieber Gott, mach mich fromm, damit ich zu dir, in den Himmel komm.

      Dear God, make me faithful and good, so that I get to be with you in heaven.

      To un-group your words: (In standard German: your grandmother may have talked in the Swabian dialect)

      “Inglicomb, Mathithrown, das e so dear and symlicomb”

      Lieber Gott, mach mich fromm, dass ich zu Dir in den Himmel komm.

      That would be my idea.

      The two longer prayers that have the last line in them go:

      1/ Wo ich gehe, wo ich stehe,
      bist du lieber Gott bei mir.
      Wenn ich dich auch niemals sehe,
      weiß ich dennoch, du bist hier!

      Lieber Gott, mach mich fromm,
      damit ich zu dir, in den Himmel komm.

      2/ Lieber Jesus mein,
      lass mich dir empfohlen sein.
      Tag und Nacht ich bitte dich,
      schütz, regier und leite mich.

      Hilf mir leben recht und fromm,
      dass ich zu dir in den Himmel komm.

      I don’t think it is the second one, because there’s no “omb” sound in the first part.

      lovejoypeace,

      peter krey

      peterkrey

      August 27, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    • “Jesulein komm, mach mich fromm, dass ich zu dir in den Himmel komm’. Amen”

      Helene Eder

      June 16, 2014 at 11:46 am

  7. Hello, I am looking for the Prayer “Now I lay me down to sleep, I pray the Lord my soul to keep” in the german Language, I thank you Inge

    Inge G. Bartoli

    October 2, 2011 at 8:31 pm

  8. Hey, I’m trying to figure out what kind of German Prayer this is, and anything else you can say about it. Its a prayer that my father taught me when I was young, and he would usually recite it for us at the dinner table around christmas time. Here it goes:
    English: Christ child come to me, make a good child out of me.
    German: Christus kind zu mir kommen machen sie eine gute Kind aus mir

    dear Pete,

    sorry I just noticed your request. I think it was an individual saying of your father’s. The grammatical German would be “Das Christkind ist zu mir gekommen und macht mir ein gutes Kind.” Really “aus mir” is English more than German. You could put “aus mir” at the end, but that would be English word order, too. That would be “Das Christkind ist zu mir gekommen und macht ein gutes Kind aus mir.” Now as a prayer: “Komme zu mir, Christkind, und mache ein gutes Kind aus mir. Amen”

    You could say that.

    lovejoypeace,
    peterkrey

    Pete

    November 16, 2011 at 9:41 pm

    • Dear Pete,

      The prayer in German was probably:

      Jesukindlein komm zu mir,
      mach ein frommes Kind aus mir.

      I just found this prayer for another reader.

      peterkrey

      December 5, 2012 at 11:04 am

  9. Hi!

    My grandma taught my mom, and she taught me, a German bedtime prayer but we do not know what it means. We think it is a form of “Now I lay me down to sleep” but we are not sure & for Christmas I wanted to get the prayer written in German & English for my mom to hang on the wall. Can you try to figure out (i) how you actually spell everything and (2) what the translation in English is? I’m writing this phonetically as I have no idea how to write it in German.

    Eba bean igatza rue, schlisa mine-la oigline su. Vater las dialgon dine eba mina betan zine. Amen.

    Thanks so much!

    Meghan

    That prayer is in my post: Children’s Prayers and others:

    Evening Prayer

    Müde bin ich, geh zu Ruh,

    schliesse beide Äuglein zu.

    Vater, lass die Augen dein,

    über meinem Bette sein.

    Hab ich Unrecht Heut getan,

    sieh es lieber Gott nicht an.

    Aber Christi Gnad und Jesu Blut,

    machen allen Schaden gut. Amen.

    dear Meghan,

    The words you have are quite garbled but recognizable:

    Eba bean igatza rue, schlisa mine-la oigline su. Vater las dialgon dine eba mina betan zine. Amen.
    Müde bin ich, geh zu Ruh, schliesse meine Äuglein zu. Vater, lass die Augen dein, über meinem Bette sein. Amen

    Now I lay me down to rest. I close my eyes for I am blessed. Dear Father, keep your eyes over my bed until I rise. Amen.

    (That is my quick translation.)

    The prayer is really longer: See my post “Prayers for Children and others.”

    A Bedtime Prayer

    Müde bin ich, geh zu Ruh,

    schliesse beide Äuglein zu.

    Vater, lass die Augen dein,

    über meinem Bette sein.

    Hab ich Unrecht Heut getan, if I did any wrong today

    sieh es lieber Gott nicht an. please dear God look away

    Aber Christi Gnad und Jesu Blut, because the grace of Christ and Jesus blood

    machen allen Schaden gut. Amen. changes all harm into good. Amen.

    hope this helps you. I used to have my sons pray it every night and they did not know German so they garbled many of the words just like you did.


    Check out my website: peterkrey.wordpress.com and subscribe to our Scholardarity.com!

    Meghan

    November 29, 2011 at 5:48 pm

  10. Thank you so much for listing these prayers. My Omie used to tell me a couple of them before bed at night. She recently passed and I wanted to make sure I had them written down somewhere since I can’t ask her anymore.

    Stephanie Heim

    April 7, 2012 at 2:42 am

  11. I never thought there were so many German prayers. I con’t remember German spelling, but our mealtime prayer was “Seine fatter, diese speiza unzer krafter —————–Amen. Can you figure this one out? Thanks.

    Miriam Van Buren

    June 28, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    • dear Miriam,

      That one goes: “Segne, Vater, diese Speise uns zur Kraft und Dir zum Preise. Amen.” I have it in there, I just start the prayer with “Father.”
      Bless, Father, this nourishment for our strength and your praise. Amen. That is a literal translation.

      lovejoypeace,
      peter krey

      peterkrey

      June 28, 2012 at 3:25 pm

  12. My grandfather taught us the child’s prayer but I don’t know what it means. Thank you for posting it. While I was just putting my daughter to bed it occurred to me I could teach it to her. Thank you again.

    Becky

    July 1, 2012 at 2:15 am

  13. [...] Children’s Prayers and others in German and English [...]

  14. Our father taught us this German prayer and we said it every night….of course, we probably said it all wrong and I can not spell the words right. It had the, Ich bin klein, mein Herz ist rein. Soll niemand drin wohnen als Jesus Allein, in the middle but started out, Jesu kindline coms su meir, Moch ein fromis —–, Ich bin klein etc.
    Couldn’t find in your list of prayers. I repeated this prayer to a German sister-in-law and she said she hadn’t heard it for years. Brought tears to her eyes…….

    Ann Hermens

    November 30, 2012 at 12:17 pm

    • Dear Ann,

      I found the prayer. See the second one in the post:

      Jesukindlein komm zu mir,
      mach ein frommes Kind aus mir.

      peterkrey

      December 5, 2012 at 11:05 am

      • Thank you for the prayer and correct pronunciation..We did say the Ich bin klein, mein Herz ist rein prayer as the last two lines of the Jesukindlein komm zu mir prayer.
        Could I possibly get a translation of the prayer?
        Jesukindlein komm zu mir,
        mach ein frommes Kind aus mir.
        Ich bin klein, mein Herz ist rein.
        Soll niemand drin wohnen als Jesus allein.

        Ann Hermens

        December 5, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    • Is the phrase Jesukindlein all one word….and is Kind and Hertz capitalized? Having this prayer done in calligraphy as a gift.

      Ann Hermens

      March 31, 2014 at 1:32 pm

      • Dear Ann,

        I saw your second comment. Yes “Kind” and “Herz” are capitalized.

        Jesukindlein komm zu mir,
        mach ein frommes Kind aus mir.
        Ich bin klein, mein Herz ist rein.
        Soll niemand drin wohnen als Jesus allein. Amen.

        Could you possibly get a translation of the prayer?

        Little Jesus, come to me

        make a devout child out of me.

        I am little, my heart is pure

        No one will dwell in it but Jesus alone.

        Of course, Jesus to one for others, makes all our loved ones dwell with him in our hearts.

        I did not try to rhyme it this time.

        peterkrey

        March 31, 2014 at 7:30 pm

  15. Dear Ann,

    To translate the prayer:

    Jesukindlein komm zu mir, Little child Jesus come to me
    mach ein frommes Kind aus mir. Make a good child out of me.
    Ich bin klein, mein Herz ist rein. I am small, my heart is pure
    Soll niemand drin wohnen als Jesus allein. I’ll let no one dwell in it, but Jesus for sure.

    The last line should really be: “but Jesus alone.” I tried to make it rhyme.

    peterkrey

    December 6, 2012 at 10:05 am

  16. I have a picture that has a German prayer or poem on it that I can’t get anyone to interpret. It goes like this!
    Gottlicher Haussegen (like a title in bigger print)

    Do Glaube da Liebe
    Do Liebe da Friede
    Do Friede da Segen
    Do Segen da Gott
    Do Gott Keine Not

    Judi Smith

    February 19, 2013 at 9:06 pm

    • Dear Judi,

      It must be in a dialect and “Do” must be “Wo”

      A Godly House Blessing
      Where there is faith, there is love
      Where there is love, there is peace
      Where there is peace, there is blessing
      Where there is blessing, there is God
      Where there is God, no distress, want, or peril

      The last word “Not” does not have a good English word for it. It’s like the desperate trouble people are in a sinking ship or in a traffic accident or starving in a famine, etc.

      lovejoypeace,
      peter krey

      peterkrey

      February 19, 2013 at 10:12 pm

      • DO is a dialect in Germany which means you

        Dear Ingrid,

        that may be so, but it does not make sense that way. peter

        Ingrid

        February 21, 2013 at 7:23 am

  17. Dear Ingrid,

    If it means “you” then the sign does not make sense. Could it mean “where” in another dialect?

    pk

    peterkrey

    February 21, 2013 at 11:35 am

  18. I’m really hoping you may be able to help me with the prayer my Mum would say to us each evening.

    She was born in Nagold – so I’m pretty sure the German she spoke was in a Schwäbisch dialect….which I think may be why I am having a bit of trouble finding the exact wording for the prayer (perhaps?).

    So far this is what I have found & put together – I put the “le” on the end of the words Schutzengel & Himmel because that is how she spoke it….(she actually put “le” on to the end of a lot of words…mainly names of loved ones). I feel like there is a small word missing between Himmele & komm – however, this may just have been something my Mum added herself :).

    Schutzengele komm, mach mich fromm,
    dass ich zu Dir ins Himmele komm. Amen

    I’m wondering if I have it correct….and also if I do, is that the whole prayer and does it have a name?

    Thank you :)

    Christine

    February 26, 2013 at 7:29 am

    • Dear Christine,

      The prayer of your Mum is a variation of this one:

      Lieber Heiland mach mich fromm dass ich in den Himmel komm. Amen

      The “le” is a part of the diminutive “lein” that makes it neuter, so it’s der Himmel, but das Himmelein. The diminutive can also be used for endearment. I don’t think that you have a word missing and a prayer can be added as above in Ingrid’s third comment, but it can also stand alone.

      It translates, “Guardian little Angel make me faithful and upright so that I go to heaven.” “Fromm” is hard to translate. Sometimes I will use “pious” but that word has gone out of usage.

      I would write your Mum’s prayer this way:

      Schutz Engele komm, mach mich fromm, dass ich zu Dir ins Himmele komm. Amen

      Or perhaps: Schutz Engele komm, mach mich fromm, dass ich ins Himmele zu Dir komm. Amen

      Perhaps “Schutzengele” can be one word, but it is an adjective and a noun.

      Prayers usually don’t have names. We just refer to them by their first words or other significant words.

      lovejoypeace,
      peter krey

      peterkrey

      February 27, 2013 at 10:08 am

  19. Today when I was out riding my horse, I started thinking about a prayer that my German Opa used to say to us when tucking us in to bed. It has always bothered me over the years that I could only remember the rhythm of the prayer… And no words.. But I kind of remembered sounds or a few letters. I thought to myself “I should Google traditional German prayers” and see what comes up. Lo and behold I found it on your website. It’s the one that begins with “Christi blut”. I knew it as soon as I saw those two words. It probably helped that I lived in Germany for 10 years as an adult and I know the language more or less fluently. I am psyched to know this prayer finally… It only took 45 years! I must have been 4-6 years old when my Opa said the prayer to me. Unfortunately, after that age my parents divorced and I subsequently spent little time with my grandparents after that. It’s good to have a little piece of him to cherish.

    Martha Leibfacher Queiroz

    September 25, 2013 at 5:54 pm

  20. looking for german prayer to angels goes something like this:
    zwei am meine linke seite, zwei an meine rechte seite,
    zwei am kopf end ,zwei an Fuss end, zwei was mich decken, zwei was mich wecken und zwei was mich im himmel furhen

    Helen

    October 7, 2013 at 7:17 pm

    • Dear Helen,

      That prayer comes from Hänsel und Gretel’s evening prayer or blessing: Abendsegen:

      Abends will ich schlafen gehn, vierzehn Engel um mich stehn:
      Zwei zu meinen Häupten, zwei zu meinen Füßen,

      zwei zu meiner Rechten, zwei zu meiner Linken,

      zweie, die mich decken, zweie, die mich wecken,

      zweie, die mich weisen zu Himmels Paradeisen!

      Sometimes words are changed a little, because in our memories we plug in our own words at times.

      You can hear it on Youtube here


      lovejoypeace,
      peterkrey

      peterkrey

      October 8, 2013 at 11:24 pm

      • Thank you!

        Sent from my iPhone

        Helen Winter

        October 9, 2013 at 4:18 pm

  21. Dear Ingrid, A year ago my older brother reminded me that while at grandma’s, as children, she had taught us a German prayer which we would recite before bed. I’m 62 now and my brother ask me if I could help him remember it. Well a year later I have acquired the only bits and pieces left of our memory from 57 years ago and would appreciate it if you could help make any sense out of it, if possible. All we have is ( Emet dewotten Jason klein ) I know this is a long shot because I’m sure my spelling is all wrong, but any help would be deeply appreciated, Thank you, Cliff.

    Cliff Dodson

    October 23, 2013 at 8:12 pm

    • Dear Cliff,

      Ingrid is someone who left a comment on my site to receive help from me.

      Perhaps this is the little prayer that you only remember the end of in distorted words:

      Emet dewotten Jason klein
      Ich bin klein, mein Herz ist rein. Soll niemand drin wohnen als Jesus allein. Amen.

      Hopefully this is the prayer your grandma recited with you. If not let me know.

      lovejoypeace,
      peterkrey

      peterkrey

      October 24, 2013 at 6:22 pm

      • it starts Lieber Heiland mach mich from das ich in dem Humel komm

        ingrid cheston

        October 24, 2013 at 9:21 pm

  22. […] Children’s Prayers and others in German and English […]


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

