peter krey's web site

scholarship, sermons, songs, poems, weblog writing on Wordpress.com

Miriam’s Song (Revised)

leave a comment »

I will sing to God[1]

A Jewish Folk Song (Revised)[2]

I. A. I will sing to God a song of triumph and of victory

we’ll throw our prejudice into the sea.

I will sing to God a song of triumph and of victory

our bigotry will drown right in the sea.

B. The Lord, my God my strength my song,

Has now become my victory. (Repeat)

C. O Lord, you are my (X)[3] God, and I will praise you

now and evermore, I will exalt you! O my Lord

you are my (X) God, and I will praise you

now and ever-more, I will exalt you!

II. A. I will sing to God a song of triumph and of victory

the horse and rider thrown into the sea.

I will sing to God a song of triumph and of victory

But Egyptians are also dear to me.

B. By ‘horse and rider’ Miriam meant

violence, murder, tyranny. (Repeat)

A. I will sing to God a song of triumph and of victory

our enmity is thrown into the sea.

I will sing to God a song of triumph and of victory

See Isaiah 19:23. (or 4).

B. God has chosen Egyptland, Assyria.and Israel,

that makes three. (Repeat)

C. O Lord, you are my (X) God, and I will praise you

now and evermore, I will exalt you! O my Lord

you are my (X) God, and I will praise you

now and ever-more, I will exalt you!

III. A. I will sing to God a song of triumph and of victory

Baptized we’re thrown into the sea.

I will sing to God a song of triumph and of victory

fished back out, marvelously free.

I. B. and I. C.

IV. A. I will sing to God a song of triumph and of victory

all our sins are thrown into the sea.

I will sing to God a song of triumph and of victory

all nations now a peaceful family

I. B. and I. C.

Written for AOS at Bethlehem’s Compline. November 2, 1996 Andrew’s birthday.


[1] The melody goes through three phases, A. B. and C. B. and C. from I. can be used as a refrain where only A. appears in III. and IV.

[2] AOS asked me to rewrite this folk song so it would include the Egyptians in the realm of God’s love too.

[3] (X) means to clap your hands just before the following note.

Written by peterkrey

June 20, 2007 at 3:01 am

Posted in My Songs

Leave a Reply

