peter krey's web site

scholarship, sermons, songs, poems, weblog writing on Wordpress.com

Ruthie, Ruthie Song

leave a comment »

To hear Mark and I singing the song, albeit a little too slowly click here on drpeterkrey

Ruthie, Ruthie

Ruthie, Ruthie, we love you so.

Because you didn’t let Naomi go,

Go to Bethlehem alone,

To stay with her you left your home.

Refrain:

“Wherever you go I’ll go too,

Don’t you know that I love you?

Wherever you stay will be my home

And your God will be my own.”

Naomi said, “Now Ruthie dear,

Why don’t you follow your sister here?

Go with her; don’t come with me.

I’m old, bitter, and sorry.”

“Wherever you go I’ll go too,

Don’t you know that I love you?

Wherever you stay will be my home

And your God will be my own.”

In Bethlehem they arrived at last.

The barley harvest needed reaping fast.

In the edges and corners of the fields,

Ruthie worked for their meager meals.

Boaz saw her among the women and men,

and asked, “Who’s that sweet alien?”

Working hard like that in my fields

and fell in love, head over heals.

“Wherever you go I’ll go too,

Don’t you know that I love you?

Wherever you stay will be my home

And your God will be my own.”

Ruth and Boaz begot the boy Jesse

Naomi forgot her sorrows, she was so happy.

Old King David was Jesse’s Son,

Forbears of Jesus, God’s Holy One.

“Wherever you go I’ll go too,

Don’t you know that I love you?

Wherever you stay will be my home

And your God will be my own.”

Pkrey 22nd of July, 2007

Written by peterkrey

July 22, 2007 at 2:31 am

Posted in My Songs

Leave a Reply

