peter krey's web site

scholarship, sermons, songs, poems, weblog writing on Wordpress.com

One of my Father’s Favorite Songs: Wenn ich zu Zeiten Traurig Bin

with 6 comments

Wenn ich zu Zeiten taurig bin

1/ Wenn ich zu Zeiten taurig bin

Und kommt mir dies und das in Sinn,

Dann denk ich, „Ach, was soll der Schmerz?

Komm schafe dir ein andres Herz.“

Denn Trauern ist in dieser Welt

Vom Bösen Feind bestellt.

Und sollt ich wieder traurig sein,

so holl’ ich Jesu singend ein.

Denn O wie glücklich is das Herz,

dass so vergisst den Schmerz.

Free Translation:

1/ Whenever I am sad and blue

And I don’t know what I can do,

I simply call on Jesus’ name

And love lifts up my heart again.

Because there’s no antidote to pain

as good as Jesus’ name.

And should I get depressed once more,

I’ll shout, “What’ve I been baptized for?”

Because gloom and doom can’t get a start,

with Jesus in your heart.

2/ Whenever I’m down in the dumps

And disappointments give me bumps.

I simply sing this glad refrain

And Jesus picks me up again.

Because saints are made of flesh and blood,

They’re sinners who need love.

And falling on my face once more,

He’s quick with first-aid grace galore.

Because Christ is not at all ashamed

to love the ones he’s named.

3/ Whenever I am down and out

And I don’t know what it’s all about.

I make the bad day come out wrong,

by singing Jesus’ happy song.

Because the darkest clouds will be disbursed,

When we get to Jesus first.

This is a song my father always sang in German for as long as I can remember. I first tried to translate it back in the early 1980’s and I continually revised it, e.g., in 7/31/95, 5/14/97,  8/18/2008, and 1/4/2009.

I thank Joseph in his comment for pointing out the German words notes, and some of the way the music sounds of this song. Check it out: http://www.notendownload.com/8/dpshop/__Wenn%20ich%20zu%20Zeiten%20traurig%20bin__NSF181MH2.sco_10.04.02.html

Written by peterkrey

August 18, 2008 at 9:21 pm

Posted in My Songs

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This is my favorite song too. But I don’t know German. It is translated in my local language from German. But I am not very sure.But your English translation is giving almost same meaning my local language. The German title is same mentioned on top of The song “Wenn ich zu Zeiten taurig bin” in my hymanl. I wish someone could help me learning other German songs which are in my Hymnal.

    Joseph

    September 19, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    • dear Joseph,

      Thank you for your response. What is your local language and in what hymnal do you have this song? I put in the words from memory, having heard my father sing it many times.

      peterkrey

      peterkrey

      October 8, 2009 at 6:26 pm

      • My language is Telugu. I am from South AndhraPrashesh state which South India. I have ‘Wenn ich zu Zeiten Traurig Bin’ above the hymn in hymnal. I would like keep in touch with you. My church had started by Hermannsburg Mission. My hymnal is translated from German to Telugu.

        Joseph

        October 8, 2009 at 7:08 pm

      • Is it possible to provide me the audio of this song? I will be very grateful.

        Joseph

        January 29, 2010 at 10:16 am

    • dear Joseph,

      I did not see your messages to me in your subscription section of my website. Recently we did a concert of my songs and it is all on Youtube at this URL address:

      Wenn Ich zu Zeiten Traurig bin is in the middle of the concert. I also have a CD with my songs and a song book with the musical notation.

      At the end of the song, we sing one verse in German. To learn German could never be as hard as learning Telegu and you have already learned that.

      Thanks so much for subscribing to my website.

      Grace, mercy, and peace,

      peter krey

      peterkrey

      January 14, 2012 at 9:12 am


Leave a Reply

