peter krey's web site

scholarship, sermons, songs, poems, weblog writing on Wordpress.com

Translating a Funny Low German Narrative Poem 1/11/2008

with 2 comments

Having finally found this poem in the Philadelphia Seminary Library I’ve translated and corrected my entry in Family Sayings:

11. Fritz Reuter: “Morgen, Herr Av’kourt. Mi is do wat passiert….“ (This is the beginning of a funny narrative poem that my father always began when we appeared in the morning.) (“G’mornin, Sir Advocate, something just happened to me!”)

„I know you had a blow-out!“ said my little brother, who didn’t realize that the poem was about being bitten by a dog. (I’ve translated this poem from the Mechlenburg Plattdeutsch and it’s in my poems now. To read it click HERE)

12. „Wat recht ist, muss auch recht bestahn

Un sollt’ die Welt in Stücken gahn.

(“What’s right is right so right increases

or else this world will go to pieces.”)

Written by peterkrey

November 11, 2008 at 8:20 pm

Posted in 1

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Peter,

    I’m glad you finally found it! See you on Saturday.

    Jason

    Jason Zarri

    November 11, 2008 at 10:42 pm

  2. I am looking for a low German poem that celebrated motherhood beginning with:
    waut mins mama fer me ded
    dat foor ech nich vergeten
    wo se beem quentten nemals mead bet in da nacht gesehten
    die bechsen wehre emma twee and mena schremp verratten

    It ends with
    Doch fercht ech daat de Welt fondang die malch stock haft verloren

    Ann

    March 6, 2009 at 1:13 am


Leave a Reply

