peter krey's web site

scholarship, sermons, songs, poems, weblog writing on Wordpress.com

Psalm 30 Song

leave a comment »

This song started as a translation of a Spanish corito: “Has cambiado mi lamento en baile.” But then I used the corito as a chorus and added three verses. Then I also changed the words of the song a good deal. It dates back to April 30, 1995 or even earlier. I think we were already singing it in St. Paul’s in Coney Island before 1992.
Psalm 30 complete Click and hear Josh on drums, Mark on guitar, Peter on trumpet, and all three of us singing!

1. I will exalt you, O Lord, because you lifted me up, lifted me up, lifted me up,

I will exalt you, O Lord, because you lifted me up, out of the dust and ashes.

Chorus: So you have changed my complaining into dancing, my lamenting into rejoicing.

My feathery feet dance the beat of thanksgiving, gone is a truckload of worry.

I will exalt you, O Lord, my God, give you praise now and forever,

because you changed my complaining into dancing, my lamenting into rejoicing.

2. Weeping may spend the hours of the night, hours of the night, hours of the night.

Weeping may spend the hours of the night, but joy comes in the morning.

Chorus.

3. God’s anger endures for the twinkling of an eye, twinkling of an eye, twinkling of an eye,

God’s anger endures for the twinkling of an eye, but God’s favor for a life-time.

In Spanish;

Has cambiado mi lamento en baile

me senistes de alegria.

Por eso a Ti cantare gloria mia

Y no estare callado.

Jehova Dios Mio Te alabare

Te alabare para siempre.

Has cambiado mi lamento en baile

Jehova Dios Mio Te alabare.

Written by peterkrey

June 29, 2009 at 2:51 am

Posted in My Songs

Leave a Reply

