peter krey's web site

scholarship, sermons, songs, poems, weblog writing on Wordpress.com

What Just Happened with my Posts

leave a comment »

Because I resigned from Bethlehem, I did not get a chance to preach for Holy Week and Easter this year. I wanted to put in my Good Friday and Easter Sermons from 1986, because it just so happened that I came across a folder in which it said the computer had lost my 1986 Easter sermon.  I have all my church bulletins and sermons in a book case about six feet tall on six shelves, from 1970 until 2010, covering 40 years, I would say about two thousand sermons, but I have not counted them. So I went to the place where the  Easter Sermon of 1986 should be. It wasn’t there. It must be in a folder used for typing my sermons. Frustrated, I began to read my sermons all around that date from 1986. I found them to be worth my time for typing – and believe you me, I’m a slow typist. So hopefully, you will find them worth your time reading.

Joshua’s Baptism took place on my Ordination Anniversary, March 2, 1986.  The pictures that follow are inside the bulletin. My brother Philip preached for the service.

The World Day of Prayer Sermon March 3, 1986 is entitled, “Choose Life!” I preached it in the Baptist church on Mermaid Avenue in Coney Island.

“The Prodigal Son” the Fourth Sunday in Lent was preached on March 9, 1986. I started my ministry in St. Paul’s Ev. Lutheran Church in Coney Island in 1976 and remained until 1992, when we picked up and moved to the West Coast so I could enter graduate school. So 1986 was the half way point in my ministry there.  We had a  service completely in Spanish following the English service at 10:00 am and on Christmas Eve we had service in German, Spanish, and English.

The Fifth Sunday of Easter Sermon, “On Glory” was preached on April 27, 1986.

The Sermon for Ascension Day “May 8, 1986.”

The Seventh Sunday of Easter Sermon, “Jesus Prays for Us” May 11, 1986.

Sandwiched in are two Blogging my thoughts. When I get a chance to really go through the New York Times, I sometimes react to some of the articles.  The first deals with climate change: is the flooding and are the droughts on our planet natural cycles or are they humanly induced?

Secondly I rage about commercials that will now even be inside movies!

Next The Good Friday sermon of March 28, 1986 as well as three of the Seven Last Words on the Cross.

A week ago I could only find the words to “In that Great Gettin’ Up Mornin” from the 2001 Easter Service at St. John’s. Now that I have found that service in which we sang “In that Great Gettin’ Up Mornin,” I posted it along with the St. John’s Easter Sermon of 2001. Sadly, however, it is not the Easter sermon of 1986. I have not yet been able to find that one.

Written by peterkrey

April 9, 2010 at 11:48 pm

Leave a Reply

