peter krey's web site

scholarship, sermons, songs, poems, weblog writing on Wordpress.com

Trumpet Concert

with 2 comments

I just booked up with soundcloud in order to activate my music once more here in wordpress. I’m planning to put in a trumpet concert that I usually play all alone in my living room. – Here is a sample, I hope it will be one of many songs.

Note that you might have to click on several before you get into my stash of songs lately. Then all the songs will be there.

“Die Gedanken Sind Frei”: “We Have freedom of Thought,” i.e., where there is no freedom of speech, a German folk song.

My father loved to sing this medley. The word “Zug” in German means a train and it means a military deployment. So this military deployment is no express train. My father fought fought in World War I.

A song about feeling homesick for the land where the North Sea waves wash ashore. My father would sing this one in Plattdeutsch.

I love songs with a driving beat.

Some Dixieland:

A real romantic song from the musical, Oklahoma. I wish I could make my trumpet sound like a celo.

A mellow song I remember from old New York from the fifties. Can you name it?

I used this song to polish up my playing and to develop new techniques for the rest of my songs:

An old Vaughn Munroe Song: country and Western

This lovely song comes from a play “Peg O’ My Heart” by J. Hartley Manners. Written and performed in 1912, it was so popular that at one time eight theater companies toured America at the same time performing it. By 1918 it was performed 10,233 times around the world.

Spanish music

Here’s the song that Edith Paiv and Satchmo Louey Armstrong made famous.

Light classical melodies:

Some Opera: Puccini

A wonderful Spanish Hymn by Cesareo Gabarain

A happy German hymn by Paul Gerhard for Spring time

we would sing this around our table before my father would say grace.

Another morning song sung before saying grace. I play it in my own style, however.

Written by peterkrey

February 19, 2011 at 8:46 pm

Posted in Playing my trumpet

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey Pop! That was an epic trumpet concert and absolutely beautiful too. I just sat and listened to the whole thing and I felt like I was sitting on our couch listening to you play. Beautiful playing Dad 🙂 It really sounds good. About the recordings with the static. It really does sound to me like the mic is turned up to sensitive and you’re far away playing to it. that way it picks up all the immediate sound right around the mic. I noticed you have quite a bit of tracks there that don’t have the static though. So you must have figured out what was making the static. Was it the mic sensitivity? Any how, thanks for the wonderful concert, I’m hoping I can get up there to see one live and in person again some time soon.

    Love
    Mark

    Mark

    March 19, 2011 at 3:52 am

  2. As a brass instrument importer I am overwhelmed and always very impressed by Louis Armstrong.
    It is always nice to hear his perfect sound. Of course he is still one of the greatest for many.
    I also say thanks for the wonderful collection.

    Harry

    January 2, 2014 at 1:01 am


Leave a Reply

