peter krey's web site

scholarship, sermons, songs, poems, weblog writing on Wordpress.com

Love Poem: “I Say to You, I Say to You, Come with Me, I’d Love You To “

with 5 comments

Sorrows leave!

No longer will I grieve!

Into the meadow let us go –

where the heather and the flowers grow.

In the blossoms, we can play!

Shining flowers will show the way.

Lover of mine,

I say to you, I say to you,

Come with me,

I want you to.

No longer do you have to grieve,

a flower garland you can weave,

Wearing it with you I’ll dance,

O Sweetheart, O pure romance.

Such a proud man I’ll be,

attending my woman faithfully.

Lover of mine,

I say to you, I say to you,

Come with me,

I’d love you to.

In Middle High German:

Ich wil trûren varen lân;
vf die heide sul wir gân,
vil liebe gespilen mîn!
da seh wir der blumen schîn.

Ich sage dir, ih sage dir,
mîn geselle, chum mit mir!

Suoziv Minne, raine Min,
mache mir ein chrenzelîn!
daz sol tragen ein stolzer man;
der wol wiben dienen chan!

Ich sage dir, ih sage dir,
mîn geselle, chum mit mir!

 

Übersetzung:
Nicht mehr will ich trauern.
Auf die Heide wollen wir gehen;
spielen und lieblich plaudern,
viele Blumen wollen wir sehen.

Ich sage dir, ich sage dir,
mein Geliebter, komm mit mir!

Süßes Schätzchen, Liebchen mein,
mache mir ein Kränzchen fein!
Das soll tragen ein stolzer Mann ,
der seine Frau echt lieben kann!

Ich sage dir, ich sage dir,
meine Geliebte, komm mit mir!

From the  Carmina Burana Poems of the 13. Century

I found the Middle High German and this modern German translation in the web site, Liebesgedichte des Mittlealters .  There are more Medieval Love poems there.

Written by peterkrey

February 14, 2012 at 2:19 am

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] Also see “Love Poem: I say to you, I say to you.” […]

  2. […] Also see “Love Poem: I say to you, I say to you.” […]

  3. That’s one of the most beautiful and simple love poems I’ve ever read! At first I wasn’t sure what it meant saying “I’d love you to.” at first I thought it meant ” I would love you also” , even though it’s “to” without two o’s. But then when I read the first “chorus”, if you will, and it said “I want you to” I realized it’s saying “I would love it if you came with me”. Something about simply stating the desire so forwardly after all the romantic verses is just beautiful. What a great job on translating you did! I love it! 🙂

    Mark

    February 21, 2012 at 6:17 am

    • Dear Mark,
      Thank you so much for your comments on my poems, those translated and otherwise. You can’t imagine how much I appreciate someone responding when I’ve written so much and it seems to blow away in the wind.
      “I say to you, I say to you, come with me, I want you to!” was very hard, because I could never understand the first line of the poem. Then I read how “truren” meant “trauern” = grieving and “varen” meant “fahren” = traveling and “lan” did not mean “land,” but “leave” then I had it.
      But the refrain is very powerful in German and I could not get words of equal power into English.
      „Ich sage dir, ich sage dir, mein Gesell, komm it mir!“ or
      „Ich sage dir, ich sage dir, mein Geliebter, komm it mir!“
      If you say those words you’ll see how much more powerful they are than English,
      “I say to you, I say to you, my love, come with me.” So I thought the refrain more powerful the way I translated it. The word “attend the woman” really helped too, because it is about chivalry, the code for courtly love by knights for ladies. In southwestern France, the knight adored the lady and just her smile made his whole day. He wrote songs and poems for her and became a troubadour, he jousted in her honor. If it became more than Platonic, the Lord of the castle could hang him, so that was that. Still when the kings participated in chivalry, they often had no one to stop them going all the way.

      At the time love was not connected with marriage. The tradition romance started from this chivalry and these rules for courtly love. Women had no rights. The husband could beat up his wife, knock her down and step on her face, especially if she bore him no sons. This chivalry slowly started raising the status of the women. The gay and high spirited Eleanor of Aquitaine, with her many southern attendants, was rejected by her husband, Louis VII of France for not giving him sons. She married again, had a court of love, where chivalry was debated and developed. Her two daughters did the same. She became the queen of England and I think Richard the Lion-Hearted is her son, who wrote some songs and poems himself in this tradition, and patronized troubadours and the tradition of courtly love. (We are talking 1050-1200 A.D.)

      lovejoypeace,

      pop

      peterkrey

      February 22, 2012 at 1:58 am

      • Hello and thank you for all of this….words can’t express…

        Leigh

        May 14, 2012 at 10:48 pm


Leave a Reply

