peter krey's web site

scholarship, sermons, songs, poems, weblog writing on Wordpress.com

A Memorial for a Biker and Rogie Ray’s Biker Song

leave a comment »

Memorial Service for a Biker in 2016

with a Biker’s Song

Text Mark 12:18-27

Believing in another life after we die is very difficult for some people, but not so much for others. One old pastor told me, “It will just be turning a page in a book and coming to a new chapter.”

In the Bible times when Jesus ministered, there were two parties, the Sadducees and the Pharisees. They were somewhat like our Republicans and Democrats, but they held different religious beliefs, our parties are political.

The Sadducees did not believe in the resurrection and life after death, while the Pharisees did. As children in Sunday School, we learned: the Pharisees believed in the resurrection, but the Sadducees did not – that’s why they were so sad-you-see.

Really it all depends on our belief in God. If we believe that God created us, called us into existence, then God can call us into existence again. We say, “Dust to dust and ashes to ashes,” but God made us from the dust; we are made out of stardust, and he was as well – and like the objection of the Sadducees in our text, he didn’t have seven wives. And to whom we are married in that life is no trouble at all, because marriage is no more. After we die we become like the angels of heaven, Jesus says.

Now Jesus is special and when he says there is an afterlife, then he should know, because he came down to us from heaven. He left the house of heaven with its many mansions to be with us. (Here “house” stands for the whole kingdom.) In our text he says, when God spoke with Moses from the burning bush, God said, “I am the God of Abraham, the God of Isaac, and the God of Jacob. And he is not a God of the dead, but of the living.” Today we would say, “The God of Abraham and Sarah, the God of Isaac and Rebekah, and the God of Jacob and Leah and Rachel.” And Jesus says that they are alive in God.

So make God your God, so that Jesus can talk about the God of Joe and Liz, the God of Jane and Bob, the God of Barbara, Shawn, the God of Billy, because it is not only a matter of life after death, but also a wonderful life lived in the light of God right now, from this day on.

We thank God that he was baptized into Jesus Christ in God’s name! So he also lived his life in the promises of God. That is why he could be such a loving father and why he is loved by so many friends.

Don’t let the strange stories in the Bible put you off. They can be hard to understand. Like Jesus walking on water? We can ask, “What is that all about?” Well, water stands for chaos and if you have seen the damage a flood makes, you’ll understand how water, the sea, the ocean stands for chaos.

But Jesus walked on that chaos and brought peace and comfort. Jesus overcomes the chaos in our lives.

Whenever I tried to overcome my sins myself, I’ve never been able to. But Jesus can do it. Jesus can overcome our addictions, our failures, the trouble we bring on ourselves or get into. Everybody has got to be trouble for somebody. When we are trouble for Jesus, we don’t have to despair, because Jesus knows how to get us out of trouble.

When I was at the end of my rope and I cried to God, “Where are all the promises you made to me? I don’t see any of them coming true.” And I listed all my failures. Nothing in my life was coming out right. I remembered what a counselor said to me, “The resurrection is our business.”

Well, I got up out of bed and it was not by my own strength, because I realized that when I had come to my end, I could live out of the strength of God. So when life has pushed us as far as we can go and we can’t take another step, then because all of our strength is gone, we have to live out of God’s strength, who is the strength of our strength.

Sometimes we have to cry out to God, “Where are all the promises you made to me?” crying out in prayer from the anguish of our hearts, to hold God to them. That way God keeps them to us. And God keeps his promises even though we are sinners. For God must have loved sinners; he made so many of us.

But when we start praying to God, trusting God, and realizing that God loves us, is rooting for us and searching for us, if we are lost, then you just watch how things change for you and how wonderful things start happening for you.

So among all you Harley Davidson bikers, it’s wonderful that we celebrate his life. And we trust that he is now alive in God and that we will all meet again someday. Thus let’s grieve, but not like people who have no hope.

“On Christ the solid rock I stand!” “Put you hand in the hand of the Man who stilled the water! Put you hand in the hand of the Man from Galilee.” And Jesus will lift you up and you will be so glad that he lifted you and me! God is unimaginably greater than we are and the way God made us out of dust, God can take his dust and ashes and raise him up again on the other side of the Jordan – on that beautiful shore. Amen.

This is a Biker song that I first heard sung by the Sun Mountain Fiddler, Dick Solberg and it was written by Rogie Ray. These words are the censured version in the way I changed them, figuring this must be the way the censored version would go:

“Ride Hard for the Sun” by Rogie Ray of Nashville

My Daddy was a jockey-shifting biker

My Momma was the leader of the train.

I grew up with my right hand on the throttle

And my left hand full of pipe-dreams JID.[1]

But I never in my life went looking for trouble,

but trouble had a way of finding me.

Refrain:

But when I ride, I ride hard for the sun. (Yea!)

And when I die, I’ll die hard by the law of the gun.

And you know

It makes no difference to me,

no difference to me.

Bury me with my brothers, (Yea!) bury me with my colors

in this old Harley D. (Repeat)

So I pierced my ears and tattooed my arms

And wrote, “Back off” up under my lip.

Now you might think that’s crazy and you might think I’m hip.

But if you think it’s tough that’s your tough luck;

If you don’t, get out of the way,

Because the school I went to

Didn’t teach us how to play.

I really have nothing to lose,

but the scars, my dues, and the rules

I choose to die by or just live one more day. Refrain.

_______________________

[1] I have no idea what “JID” means or if I misheard the words. Can someone help? I heard this song from Dick Solberg, the Sun Mountain Fiddler Bootleg Tape, “No Holds Barred.”   peterkrey

Written by peterkrey

February 24, 2016 at 1:27 pm

Leave a Reply

