peter krey's web site

scholarship, sermons, songs, poems, weblog writing on Wordpress.com

Max Kluge: Gathering his Paintings together

with one comment

When I was ministering in St. Paul’s Lutheran Church in Coney Island, I befriended Max Kluge, a disabled printer press operator, who had been hit by a car and turned his skills to painting. I wonder if those who have some of his paintings would send iphone pictures of them to me to include in this online exhibit. I will put in the pictures that I have.

IMG_1830This is a photograph of Max Kluge himself that he painted to make it a long lasting painted portrait. He  said that he painted in the Flemish style so that his paintings would last hundreds of years.

This first painting is a still life that I bought from him: “Peaches.”

Still-Life Peaches    I love the next one.

Iphone photos 9-11-14 187

 

 

 

 

 

I don’t believe the first  painting is a copy of a famous painting, but the second one is. It is a copy of “Street Scene, Rue à Stains” by Maurice Utrillo. Max would say that every painter practiced by copying famous paintings. Only the size had to be different to distinguish the copies from the originals. I wonder if that is true? Would someone who is knowledgeable about the art be able to tell me?

The following three paintings are definitely copies. the first is a copy of “A Sidewalk Cafe at Night” by Van Gogh and the second is a copy of “Early Sunday Morning” (1930) by Edward Hopper. Max pointed out that his did not include the fire hydrant  on the sidewalk that continued on the left of the original. The third one is “Children Eating Grapes and a Melon” by Bartolomé Esteban Murillo. The latter is a much larger piece on a canvass. It is 21×28 inches in size and upon closer inspection, it is a reprint by the Art Reproduction Company, Inc. I think Max may also have painted over some of it like he did for photographs. I know he had me return it in order to it touch it up.

 

img_1681

Iphone photos 9-11-14 191

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

img_2518

I think that the next still lives are his own paintings:

img_2521

 

img_2520

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

img_2528

Ursula Koci sent me nine pictures of her Max Kluge paintings for this collection. She has ten.

I wonder if you should have more of his paintings to include in this very small collection?

 

 

 

 

 

Written by peterkrey

January 6, 2017 at 12:57 pm

Posted in 1

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. II looked at the paintings by your artist friend with interest. I have only one criticism; the first still life doesn’t seem to be rooted on the surface, rather seems floating.

    karen hagspiel

    January 14, 2017 at 2:27 pm


Leave a Reply

